How to update modules through Internet

Hello,

I have customized modules. May I know how to update those modules via Internet if users want to update from Internet.

Thanks,
Khinelay

Hi @khinelay – are you able to share the modules with us or is the content private?

Yes, I can share some modules. But I also have private modules which have permissions to use only for our project.

@khinelay – the modules you share with us, we would load on oer2go.org which would allow us to give it a new version number and have users update via the admin panel.

Otherwise, you’d have to have someone locally SSH into each device and rsync or download via wget or ftp the new modules from you somehow.

Hello,
I am new to RACHEL. May I know if you could advise how can I upload my own content to RACHEL:

1. remotely (RACHEL connected on internet while I am connected on internet in other country/region) without having to load my content on oer2go.org ?
  2. locally (via USB) ?
    Will be great if you could share the detailed steps on how the above could be done, please ?

Thank you very much.

Hello @CheeMing,

Welcome to the forums and to using RACHEL!

Which version of RACHEL is your device using?

With version 3.1.2 and higher you can use the “module upload” utility on the settings page to upload your own modules to a device while connected remotely over the internet, or locally over the wifi hotspot. I will give you instructions based on your RACHEL version.

James

Hello @jamesk,

Thanks for your prompt response. We are looking into purchasing the latest version. We are getting ready for the deployment in the next 2 to 3 months. Thanks in advance for the instructions.

Chee Ming

Hi @CheeMing - WIth a new device you will have the module upload utility. These are the instructions

1. On the main page of RACHEL log click the “admin” button

2. Log in with the default password of admin/Rachel+1

3. Navigate to the “Settings” tab and you will se the upload utility