RACHEL + NComputing Thin Clients

Hi everyone,

Need expert advice please. We are interested in using Thin Clients for our resource center in Papua New Guinea because they are easy to deploy, energy and cost efficient. https://www.ncomputing.com/products/L-series/L300# .

I contacted NComputing and raised the question if we can upload RACHEL plus content to the host pc, They say that we can give access and remove access from vspace software installed but it may be difficult to run 25 users and may need a stronger host pc to configure. I was also wondering if the HP ProDesk 400 G3 SFF i7 8GB 1TB DVD W7P/10P VGA DP will do the job? https://support.hp.com/ca-en/document/c04884992

We don’t mind so much that the Thin Client may only allow 20 users because the RACHEL Plus that we have already will reach an additional 50 users. I am not tech savvy but this is how I see it.:).

I am reaching out to the community and the RACHEL team for your thoughts and guidance if whether this approach is viable.

Many thanks,
Symone Dawanincura

https://www.ncomputing.com/products/L-series/L300#

https://support.hp.com/ca-en/document/c04884992

This might be interesting? http://pinet.org.uk/

Hardware for 12 clients might look like
£150-£180 Server
£217 POE Switch
12x £100 monitor with £7 POE
12x £23 Clients plus £20 keyboad/touchpad

Seems that the Ncomputing stuff is quite expensive?

1 Like

Hi Sam,

Thank you so much! I will look into it.

Regards,
Symone

1 Like

Hello @Symone_Dawanincura,