Which RACHEL please help?

Hi. So excited to be part of this community and the work we can do with RACHEL in a literacy project I am leading in the Philippines (Iloilo - for those who may know :slight_smile: ) . I have been reading quite a bit on this forum. I want to know how the best way to set up RACHEL as the offline hotspot in rural communities (just one for now, which is a mountain community) in the Philippines. Unfortunately, the more I read the more I see options and now I just do not know where to start. I read about RACHEL-Pi , Plus and then there is Kolibri as well. As the project is looking for scalability as well, do we proceed with the Village Telco approach by going for RACHEL-USB? Please advise.

As I am a researcher, as well, I want to connect with those who are doing research.

Thank you for taking the time to write my first message on this community forum.

Judith

2 Likes

Hi Judith,

Welcome to the RACHEL community! It’s great to have you here. I’m happy to help you get started with RACHEL and explain how it works as well as the different device options available.

RACHEL devices create a wifi hotspot for users to connect to with their own device. These can be tablets, cell phones, desktop computers, or anything that can connect to wifi. When the student connects to the RACHEL hotspot they have access to the main page of RACHEL which has all of the content that is installed for them to browse and interact with.